John-Otto Phillips



John-Otto (Otto) Phillips joined Waddell Phillips after gaining extensive and broad-based litigation experience at a Bay Street Toronto insurance litigation firm. He has effectively managed litigation matters including personal injury, property damage, commercial general liability, construction claims, occupiers’ liability, and insurance coverage through both court proceedings and negotiated resolutions. Otto is now focusing his talents on class actions, commercial and civil litigation.


John-Otto is involved in a wide variety of civil and commercial litigation and class actions focusing on consumer protection, securities and product liability claims.

  • Called to the Bar of the Law Society of Upper Canada June 2016
  • Juris Doctor (JD): Osgoode Hall Law School 2012-2015
  • Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) (Philosophy/Legal Theory): McMaster University 2008-2012
  • Master of Arts (Philosophy): McMaster University 2006-2008
  • Bachelor of Arts (High Honors) (Philosophy/History): University of Saskatchewan 2003-2006
  • Glen T. Wakabayshi Memorial (Osgoode) 2015
  • Shin Doi & Benda Prize in Legal Drafting (Osgoode) 2014
  • Charles Edward Woodrow Scholarship (Osgoode) 2013
  • David Ward Bursary (Osgoode) 2013
  • Osgoode Alumni Bursary (Osgoode) 2013
  • Osgoode Bursary Award 2012-2015
  • SSHRC Doctoral Scholarship 2010-2012
  • Ontario Graduate Scholarship 2010
  • Alvin Oglivie Prestige Scholarship 2009-2010
  • McMaster University Doctoral Scholarship 2008-2010
  • McMaster University Master’s Scholarship 2006-2008
  • PhD Dissertation – Deference, Authority, and Administrative Review: New Foundations for the Judicial Review of Administrative Tribunal Decision Making (2012)
  • MA Thesis – Defining Legitimacy: A Hartian Conception of Judicial Activism (2008)
    Academic Peer-Reviewed Publications
  • ‘Law, Compulsion, and Community in Plato’s Republic’ in Polis, vol. 28, no. 1 (2011)
  • ‘Making Friends of Old Enemies: A Communitarian Defense of Judicial Review’ in Gnosis, vol. 11, no.1 (2010)